- TriniGourmet.com - http://www.trinigourmet.com -

Shavuot: Festival of Milk and Honey (menu)

Posted By Sarina On May 23, 2012 @ 10:06 am In articles,dairy,holidays and festivals,menu plans,vegetarian | Comments Disabled


Gnocchi Pomodoro (recipe linked below)

Shavuot Shavuot [1] is an annual Jewish festival of dual significance. Agriculturally, it commemorates the time when the first fruits were harvested and brought to the Temple, historically, it also celebrates the giving of the Torah at Mount Sinai. To mark Shavuot I always prepare a dairy-based menu that incorporates honey in some form or fashion.

This year Shavuot is being observed from sunset May 26 – nightfall May 28. Will I be hosting a get together? That’s the plan but we’ll see… Here are some ideas I’m playing around with for this year’s menu :)

Shavuot Menu 2012:

Croissants
Challah
Warm Spinach and Artichoke Dip [2] (from Cooking Channel [3])
Italian White Bean Soup [4](from EdenFoods.com [5])
Gnocchi Pomodoro [6]
Butternut Squash and Duxelles Casserole [7] (from Vegetarian Times [8])
Caramel Sundaes
Top-Secret Chocolate Mousse (from Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours [9]
)

As I am prone to changing my mind at the last minute though, I am also eying some of these other popular dairy recipes that I’ve shared in the past :)

Trinidad Macaroni Pie [10]
Trinidad Barfi [11]
Punch de Creme [12]
Trinidad Corn Soup with Cornmeal Dumplings [13]
Upside-Down Chocolate Pudding [14]

For more kosher holiday recipes check out the Jewish Cooking section of Veni Mangé [15] – The Trinigourmet Amazon Bookstore!

Tweet [16]
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

About Sarina [17]

Passionate foodie, founder of Trinigourmet and Caribbean Lifestyle Maven. Author of "Glam By Request: 30+ Easy Caribbean Recipes" [18]


Article printed from TriniGourmet.com: http://www.trinigourmet.com

URL to article: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/shavuot-festival-of-milk-and-honey/

URLs in this post:

[1] Shavuot: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shavuot

[2] Warm Spinach and Artichoke Dip: http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/recipes/ellie-krieger/warm-spinach-and-artichoke-dip-recipe/index.html

[3] Cooking Channel: http://www.cookingchanneltv.com

[4] Italian White Bean Soup : http://www.edenfoods.com/recipes/view.php?recipes_id=155

[5] EdenFoods.com: http://EdenFoods.com

[6] Gnocchi Pomodoro: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/gnocchi-pomodoro-recipe/

[7] Butternut Squash and Duxelles Casserole: http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipe/butternut-squash-and-duxelles-casserole/

[8] Vegetarian Times: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002BFZ9MG/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=trinigourmetc-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B002BFZ9MG

[9] Around My French Table: More Than 300 Recipes from My Home to Yours: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B007F7PHQI/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=trinigourmetc-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B007F7PHQI

[10] Trinidad Macaroni Pie: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinidad-macaroni-pie-recipe/

[11] Trinidad Barfi: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinidad-barfi/

[12] Punch de Creme: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/punch-de-creme/

[13] Trinidad Corn Soup with Cornmeal Dumplings: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/corn-soup-with-cornmeal-dumplings-recipe/

[14] Upside-Down Chocolate Pudding: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/upside-down-chocolate-pudding-recipe/

[15] check out the Jewish Cooking section of Veni Mangé: http://astore.amazon.com/trinigourmetc-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=43

[16] Tweet: https://twitter.com/share

[17] Sarina: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/author/sarinanow/

[18] "Glam By Request: 30+ Easy Caribbean Recipes": http://www.GlamByRequest.com

All text and images copyright TriniGourmet.com unless stated otherwise