- TriniGourmet.com - http://www.trinigourmet.com -

West Indian Bread Recipes

Posted By Sarina On March 24, 2010 @ 12:24 am In breads,dairy,Featured,pareve,vegetarian | Comments Disabled

Through the years I have assembled more than a few West Indian bread recipes and have decided it is high time to compile them into their own post! Please note that I am more than aware that the current listing is far from exhaustive. As a result I am dividing it into two parts which will be continually updated. If you don’t see a recipe here that you would like me to add to the site please leave me a comment [1] so that I can add it to my ever-growing “to cook” list :)

TriniGourmet’s West Indian Bread Recipes (in alphabetical order)

Banana Bread (recipe) [2]

Very light, spongy and deliciously moist. The banana flavour was milder and subtler than I expected, and the raisins added just the right amount of sweetness.

Cassava Pone (recipe) [3]

Mmm pone. A sinfully sweet childhood memory. Not a pudding, not a cake, but something somewhere in between. Pones are usually made from root vegetables. You can also make them with carrots, sweet potatoes and pumpkin [4]

Coconut Bake (recipe) [5]

For me Coconut bake generates memories of Sunday mornings and warm Milo or some other form of hot chocolate. What memories does Coconut Bake have for you? [6] :)

Coconut Rock Buns (recipe) [7]

I don’t know why coconut rock buns appeal to me so much. I think in part it’s because of the contrast of the homely rough-hewn exterior which belies the soft airy texture of the insides. Or maybe it’s the sweet sugary crust which perfectly complements the coconut infused, raisin-studded flavours? Who knows? It may take a lifetime of consumption for me to find the answer :)

Cornbread – Sarina’s Peppery Paprika (recipe) [8]

Growing up I never thought of cornbread as a particularly West Indian dish however it seems to have a place in the bread section of every Caribbean Cookbook that I own so I’m going to roll with it :) This particular recipe is one of my attention and has a little spicy kick that goes great with savoury dishes.

Fried Bake (recipe) [9]

Fried bake (also known as float) is a popular breakfast bread throughout the West Indies. It’s also an essential part of Trinidad’s most famous beach food. I don’t even want to know the calorie count!

Trinidad Dosti Roti – a valiant attempt (recipe) [10]

Dosti means friendship in Hindi, and in this recipe the two rotis are cooked together, making them friends! :) (at least until they are torn apart and eaten :P )

Trinidad Hops Bread (recipe) [11]

Hops is the most basic of breakfast breads/buns here in Trinidad. I have no idea how it got its name, maybe it has to do with the lengthy yeast development stage before flour is added? Its distinctive smell, taste and shape I think are some of the earliest memories of morning for many a Trini child.

Trinidad Sugar Buns (recipe) [12]

LIght and fluffy with a thin ultra-sweet crust.

Trinidad Sada Roti (recipe) [13]

This is a plain roti, made of white flour. Because it is the simplest roti to make, it is the most commonly consumed roti in Trinidad. It is a popular breakfast option in Trinidad, in combination with tomato choka, baigan choka (eggplant), and other vegetable dishes.

Wholewheat Bake Wholewheat Bake (recipe) [14]

Hearty by nature, its heavy crumb it keeps you feeling satisfied for hours. Especially when taken with a savory topping. My version here, raises the fiber content through a healthy dose of wholewheat flour.

Recipes to come (if you see a recipe listed here rest assured that it will be on the site in due time, no need to ‘rush meh’ :) )

Biscuit Cake [15]
Carrot Bread
Cassava Bread/Jamaican Bammie
Coconut Roll
Coconut Sweetbread [16]
Currant Rolls
Dominican Mastiff Bread
Gingerbread
Jam Buns - reader request
Jamaican Toto - reader request
Mango Bread
Orange Date Bread
Trinidad Butter Loaf [17]

Am I leaving anything out? What else do you want to see? Do let me know [1]!

• To see all of the currently available bread recipes on Trinigourmet.com [18] click here [19].
• If you’re interested in Bread-related cookbooks view the Bread, Baking & Desserts section of Veni Mangé [20], Trinigourmet’s online Amazon store!

Tweet [21]
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

About Sarina [22]

Passionate foodie, founder of Trinigourmet and Caribbean Lifestyle Maven. Author of "Glam By Request: 30+ Easy Caribbean Recipes" [23]


Article printed from TriniGourmet.com: http://www.trinigourmet.com

URL to article: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/west-indian-bread-recipes/

URLs in this post:

[1] please leave me a comment: http://www.trinigourmet.com/?p=3850&preview=true#respond

[2] Banana Bread (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/banana-bread-recipe/

[3] Cassava Pone (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/cassava-pone-recipe/

[4] pumpkin: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/pumpkin-pone-recipe/

[5] Coconut Bake (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/coconut-bake-recipe/

[6] What memories does Coconut Bake have for you?: http://www.trinigourmet.com/?p=1717&preview=true#respond

[7] Coconut Rock Buns (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/coconut-rock-buns-recipe/

[8] Cornbread – Sarina’s Peppery Paprika (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/sarinas-peppery-paprika-cornbread-recipe/

[9] Fried Bake (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/fried-bake-n-fish/

[10] Trinidad Dosti Roti – a valiant attempt (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinidad-dosti-roti-recipe-a-valiant-attempt/

[11] Trinidad Hops Bread (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinidad-hops-bread-recipe/

[12] Trinidad Sugar Buns (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinidad-sugar-bunshot-cross-buns-recipe/

[13] Trinidad Sada Roti (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/sada-roti-recipe/

[14] Wholewheat Bake (recipe): http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/wholewheat-bake

[15] Biscuit Cake: http://trinigourmet.com/index.php/7-sweet-trini-treats-free-download-now-available/

[16] Coconut Sweetbread: http://trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinigourmets-glam-by-request/

[17] Trinidad Butter Loaf: http://trinigourmet.com/index.php/trinidad-butter-loaf/

[18] Trinigourmet.com: http://Trinigourmet.com

[19] click here: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/category/breads/

[20] view the Bread, Baking & Desserts section of Veni Mangé: http://astore.amazon.com/trinigourmetc-20?_encoding=UTF8&node=49

[21] Tweet: https://twitter.com/share

[22] Sarina: http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/author/sarinanow/

[23] "Glam By Request: 30+ Easy Caribbean Recipes": http://www.GlamByRequest.com

All text and images copyright TriniGourmet.com unless stated otherwise